Monsters Of The Month (Wonderful World Of Disney Vintage Gulf Oil Kid’s Travel Magazines) Kooky Monster Art Love-Arama

When I was young and my mom and I would go visit my Grandma (who lives in a 1970’s time capsule awesome house), I would play in my mom’s old room and find treasures that she had when she was growing up. One of those treasures was a set of magazines called “The Wonderful World Of Disney”. If you have these you know how awesome these are. If you can find them somewhere, you should definitely buy them I think.

Wonderful World Of Disney Magazines Lot Of 6 1968-1970 All

They are fantastic magazines that were sold at Gulf Oil gasoline stations for a lovely 25 cents. The artwork is fantastic and they are packed full of behind-the-scenes goodness at Disney, comics, interviews (including Michael Collins, the astronaut on the first lunar landing who didn’t walk on the Moon but kept the mother ship running), history (they even talk about the Chisholm Trail!), nature articles, comics, puzzles, factoids, sketches, promotions for live action Disney movies (most of which I have never heard of or seen, but they sound really interesting), fractured fairytales (really!), stories based on movies (including some original that would have made great T.V. episodes), and songs complete with music scores. Pretty fantastic, right? If you haven’t gotten to look through them, you don’t know the half of it! They’re terrific!

The reason this magazine series was so memorable to me was the part titled “Monster Of The Month”. I LOVED Monster Of The Month (Nothing’s changed, hee, hee! Still loving zany, colorful, stylish, fun monsters, collecting Monster High. My favorite was Maud the Mod Mermaid of course). I now treasure my mom’s copies, and I bought the ones she didn’t have on eBay to complete my collection. I got SO blessed and won a lot auction so that I only paid $1.60 apiece for them INCLUDING shipping.

So in keeping with Monster High-loving tradition, here are some fabulous Disney Monsters Of The Month!

Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month Maud the Mod Mermaid phoneyfresh blogspot com
The description reads:
Not all monsters are ghastly, fearsome, or frightening. Take Maud, the Mod Mermaid, for example. Even though this mythical miss spends much of her time under water, she keeps up on the latest fads, fashions, and fancies. And how does she spend her time? Why on the shell-ophone, of course!
Source: http://phoneyfresh.blogspot.com/2011/02/monster-of-month.html
Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month Scandinavian trolls vintagedisneylandtickets blogspot com
The Scandinavian Troll (trippy!)
Source: http://vintagedisneylandtickets.blogspot.com/2009/07/wonderful-world-of-disney-magazine.html
If you go to the above website, he has even more pictures from the magazines. Don’t miss it! Also, when you go there, if you click on the picture, it enlarges it so that you can read the descriptions.
Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month  Abdul the Genie vintagedisneylandtickets blogspot com
Abdul the Genie! (For some reason he reminds me of Tommy Chong from “Cheech and Chong”). “Aladdin” would have been so much better with this dude. Isn’t this artwork fantastic? And you gotta kind of love the Mickey Mouse watch here. There needs to be more hippie characters.
Source: http://vintagedisneylandtickets.blogspot.com/2009/07/wonderful-world-of-disney-magazine.html
Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month  Christos the Centaur vintagedisneylandtickets blogspot com
Christos the Centaur!
Hey, are those guys in the background from “Mary Poppins”?
Source: http://vintagedisneylandtickets.blogspot.com/2009/07/wonderful-world-of-disney-magazine.html
Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month Vintage  Electric Shamrocks Leprechauns eBay Auction photo
The Electric Shamrocks Leprechaun Band!
Source: Screen capture from eBay auction (I couldn’t get to my copy of this magazine yet)
Wonderful World Of Disney Gulf Oil Travel Kids Magazine Monster Of The Month Madame Mim The Dragon doyoulikethistoo wordpress com
The Magnificent, Marvelous, Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Madame Mim from “The Sword In The Stone”, in dragon form! (Whoever made these magazines rather liked Madame Mim)
I took this picture.
madam_mim_doll_ooak_by_lulemee-d3jvc6p
Someone made a doll of Madame Mim when she was “beautiful, lovely and fair
Silvery voice, long purple hair”! I’m having some doll envy. I want to make one too! Really, how 😀 is this? (Very)
Source: http://lulemee.deviantart.com/art/madam-mim-doll-ooak-214773361

I can only find 6 different issues of this magazine. If you know if there were any more, please let me know.

SO YOU KNOW:

Wonderful World Of Disney Magazines Lot Of 6 1968-1970 All Labels

Issues were released in this order:

Volume I, No. 1 Dragon Madame Mim

Volume I, No. 2 Scandinavian Troll

Volume I, No. 3 Abdul the Genie

Volume I, No. 4 The Electric Shamrocks Leprechaun Band

Volume II, No. 1 Christos the Centaur

Volume II, No. 2 Maud the Mod Mermaid

 

BONUS ROUND: More Disney Monster art:

This unspeakably awesome painting of the witch Aldetha Teach from the movie “Blackbeard’s Ghost” (go watch it if you haven’t seen it yet! In fact, go watch it if you HAVE seen it. It’s good).

Aldetha_teach
She’s lovely and spooky. This painting was my favorite part of that movie, and it was a good funny movie.
Probably painted by David Jonas or possibly Paul Wenzel. I wonder who has this painting today (I wish it was me ): )
Source and more information: http://timbakerfx.deviantart.com/art/Aldetha-Teach-297092127?offset=10#comments
One thought on “Monsters Of The Month (Wonderful World Of Disney Vintage Gulf Oil Kid’s Travel Magazines) Kooky Monster Art Love-Arama

  1. My father, George Sherman, was head editor of the Wonderful World of Disney Gulf Magazine. I asked him once how much of the magazine was he responsible for and he said, “90%”. That meant coming up with the ideas for “Monster of the Month” and giving the concepts to one of Disney’s wonderful illustrators. He also helped with the Fractured Fairytales that George Davie and dad wrote. I used the reinterruptation of “Little Red Riding Hood” in Vol.1 No.2 as a piece for Speech Tournaments in High School. I am also published in two magazines. One a poem and another a letter to the editor. My brother Jim wrote an article on “Goofy Learns to Surf” for Vol. 2 No. 2. These magazines were a part of my family. I wrote about being the daughter of Head of Publications in the 1960s in a book published last year called “A Disney Childhood: Comic Books to Sailing Ships” which has a little of the back story behind Disney Studios in the 1960s when Walt was still alive. Cathy Sherman Freeman

Leave a Reply

